Digital Fiber Initiative

Digitalize forest
industry with
Siemens and VTT

Siemens and VTT invite partners to build an open innovation ecosystem for forest industry digitalization. With the aim to achieve the next level of industrial productivity, partners are encouraged to utilize Siemens’ Digital Enterprise platform solutions and VTT’s Bioruukki Pilot Centre to innovate across the entire forest industry value chain. Siemens’ Digital Enterprise platform solutions include MindSphere, an open cloud-based IoT platform and COMOS, Siemens’ plant engineering software.

The Digital Fiber ecosystem consists now of 11 partners: Blend Media, Collective Crunch, Hitseed, Infinited Fiber Company, Lappeenrannan Teknillinen Yliopisto (LUT), Process Genius, Prometec, Semantum and Sofecta. 

To find out more about the ecosystem, partners and Siemens' solutions, go to Siemens Digital Fiber ecosystem pages


          The Digital Fiber Challenge is jointly organized by Siemens, VTT and Spinverse

Siemens is a global technology powerhouse that has stood for engineering excellence, innovation, quality, reliability and internationality for more than 165 years. The company is active in more than 200 countries, focusing on the areas of electrification, automation and digitalization. Siemens’ Digital Factory Division aims to provide its customers with a comprehensive portfolio of hardware and software products which enable the comprehensive integration of data from development, production and suppliers.

For more information:
Tiina Witikkala, Digital Fiber Ecosystem Lead, Project Manager, +358 50 3166 279, tiina.witikkala@siemens.com

Arto Iivanainen, Sales, Fiber Industry, FinBalt Region, +358 50 326 9316, arto.iivanainen@siemens.com

Lars Maura, Head of Business Development, +358 50 567 1677, lars.maura@siemens.com


VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland Ltd is one of the leading research and technology organizations in Europe. VTT has a long history of helping industrial partners to create and develop new process concepts – from the initial idea through laboratory phase to industrial scale demonstrations. With the Bioruukki - unique innovation and demonstration platform for bio- and circular economy businesses, VTT can help companies to accelerate their global market launches within the sectors of bio-based chemicals and low carbon energy.

For more information:
Hannu Mikkonen, Project Manager, hannu.mikkonen@vtt.fi

Olli Ventä, Program Leader, +358 40 061 8978, olli.venta@vtt.fi

Juha Kortelainen, Research Team Leader, +358 50 328 7040, juha.kortelainen@vtt.fi


Spinverse is the Nordic leader in innovation consulting, specialised in driving open innovation ecosystems, arranging funding and commercialising emerging technologies. We aim to change both our industry and the world, by offering innovative solutions to our clients in industries such as automation, chemicals, cleantech, electronics, energy, ICT, life science, machinery and mining.

For more information:
Kaisu Leppänen, Senior Project Manager, +358 44 288 4824, kaisu.leppanen@spinverse.com

Timo Ropponen, Director, Manufacturing and Energy, +358 50 588 0440, timo.ropponen@spinverse.com